What are the seven principles

The 7 (seven) principles of SR (social responsibility) significantly are the Get It Fair Framework pillars.

Most important, they refer to international rules, Guidance (e.g. OECD Guidance) and Standards (ISO 26000, ISO 31000).

In essence, the 7 principles refer to the following documents:

In particular, the “OECD Due Diligence Guidance for Responsible Business Conduct” and “OECD sectoral Due Diligence Guidance“. The OECD sectoral guidance markedly helps enterprises identify and address risks to people, the environment and society associated with business operations, products or services in particular sectors.

On the other hand, ISO 26000 sets seven principles for SR, which every organization should respect and apply.

The seven principles for SR (ISO 26000)


Responsible organizations are accountable for their impacts on society, economy, and environment.

Firstly, accountability involves an obligation on management to be answerable to the controlling interests of the organization. In addition it includes the organization’s obligation to be answerable to legal authorities with regards to laws and regulations.


Responsible organizations are transparent in their decisions and activities that impact on society and the environment.

Responsible organizations disclose in a clear, accurate and complete manner, and to a reasonable and sufficient degree, the policies, decisions, and activities for which they are responsible. For this purpose, this information should be readily available, directly accessible, and understandable to those who have been, or may be, affected in significant ways by the organization. It should be timely and factual and be presented in a clear and objective manner in order to enable stakeholders to accurately assess the impact that the organization’s decisions and activities have on their respective interests.

Ethical behaviour

Responsible organizations behave ethically.

An organization’s behaviour should be based on equally important values of honesty, equity and integrity. In other words, these values imply a concern for people, animals and the environment and a commitment to address the impact of its activities and decisions on stakeholders’ interests.

Respect for the stakeholder interests

Responsible organizations respect, consider and respond to the interests of their stakeholders.

Basically they identify the stakeholders, assess and take into account the relative ability of stakeholders to contact, engage with and influence the organization. In other words, they consider the views of stakeholders whose interests are likely to be affected by a decision or activity even though they have no formal role in the governance of the organization or are unaware of these interests.

Respect for rule of law

Responsible organizations accept that respect for the rule of law is mandatory.

Unquestionably the rule of law refers to the supremacy of law. For this reason organizations accept the idea that no individual or organization stands above the law and that government is also subject to the law.

Respect for international norms of behaviour

Furthermore, responsible organizations respect international norms of behaviour, while adhering to the principle of respect for the rule of law.

Respect for human rights

Responsible organizations explicitly respect human rights and recognize both their importance and their universality.

When human rights are not protected, take steps to respect human rights and avoid taking advantage of these situations. In addition, where the law or its implementation does not provide for adequate protection of human rights, they adhere to the principle of respect for international norms of behaviour.